Charles County, Maryland

August 15, 2016 Minutes

Monday, August 15, 2016

A Retreat of the Charles County Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) took place on Monday, August 15th, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. in the historic Ellerslie.


Michael Fleming, Vice Chairman
Brooke O’Conner
Francis Gray
Maria Kane
Elizabeth Keller
Nicole Tompkins-Flagg
Denise Grote


Tina Lohr
Franklin A. Robinson, Jr.


Beth Groth
Sheila Geisert

CALL TO ORDER - The Chairman called the meeting to order at 6:45 p.m.  



Board members cited the following as important features in Charles County:

  • Zekiah Swamp
  • Old Waldorf School
  • Port Tobacco Watershed
  • St Ignatius Church
  • Waldorf Motel
  • Historic Port Tobacco
  • Naval Base @ Indian Head
  • Tobacco Barns
  • Cemetery behind ReMax
  • Tobacco Warehouses in Hughesville
  • La Plata Courthouse
  • Nanjemoy Waterfront
  • Friendship


  1. Preservation Awards
    1. Create a subcommittee to plan the next Awards Ceremony
    2. Enlist members of the community to participate
    3. Establish a Youth Award classification
  2. History Day – winner will receive an award from the HPC.
  3. Update  the 2004 Historic Preservation Plan
    1. Define a scope of work for the HPC Members
    2. Create a subcommittee to work on the new plan
    3. Follow National Guidelines
    4. Propose Commissioner established Funding for Tax Incentives
  4. Publication of the Historic Structures Book
  5. Publication of  Preservation Matters Newsletter – Beth showed a mock-up of the upcoming issue
  6. Outreach
    1. FB, Twitter, Tweeting
    2. Establish a Geo Cache program
    3. Establish Partnerships with other organizations within the County
      1. CSM, High Schools. Rotary, Historic Society for Charles County, Friends of Rich Hill, Deb Pence-Chief of Tourism Division.
    4. Conservation Goals
      1. Propose All Historic Properties owned by the County be Listed on the National Registry
        • Rich Hill
        • Maxwell Hall
        • La Plata Armory
  7. Participate is Grant Programs i.e. “Six to Fix”; This Place Matters

RECOGNITION OF OUTGOING CHAIRMAN, Franklin A. Robinson, Jr, and BOARD MEMBER, Tina Lohr. Staff presented a gift to each outgaining member in recognition of their service to the County and the Preservation of County History.

ELECTION OF HPC CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN: A MOTION was made by Maria Kane, seconded by Francis Gray, to elect Michael Fleming as Chairman.  All voted in favor and the MOTION passed.      

A MOTION was made by Maria Kane, seconded by Francis Gray, to elect Nicole Tompkins-Flagg as Vice-Chairman.  All voted in favor and the MOTION passed.      

ADJOURNMENT:  A MOTION was made by Elizabeth Keller, seconded by Francis Gray, to adjourn the meeting at 9:30 p.m.  All voted in favor and the MOTION passed.  

NEXT MEETING:  September 19rd, 2016 at 6:00 p.m., Port Tobacco Courthouse.