www.charlescountymd.gov

Charles County, Maryland

Free Flu Vaccines are Available

For Immediate Release
2012-320
Friday, September 21, 2012 - 9:10am

Free Flu Vaccines are Available

The Charles County Department of Health is offering free flu vaccinations at various locations.  Residents are encouraged to get the flu vaccine to protect themselves, family and the community against the flu.

Who should get the flu vaccination?

  • The vaccine is recommended for everyone six months of age and older.
  • Pregnant women, young children, those with chronic illnesses, and those 65 years of age or older are at high risk for serious influenza complications.

What types of vaccines are available?

  • The “flu shot”: vaccine given with a needle
  • Nasal- spray flu vaccine: vaccine given as a spray through the nose (Can be given to those who are ages 2 to 49 who are not pregnant)
  • Fluzone high dose influenza vaccine (For seniors age 65 and older)

Vaccination clinics held onsite at the Charles County Department of Health:

  • Friday, Sept. 28 from 9 a.m.–2 p.m. (Available only for seniors 65+ and caregivers)
  • Friday, Oct. 12 from 10 a.m. –4 p.m.
  • Saturday, Nov. 3 from 10 a.m. –2 p.m.
  • Friday, Dec. 7 from 9 a.m. –4 p.m.
  • Thursday, Dec. 20 from 3 p.m. –7 p.m.

Additional vaccination clinics held at community locations:

  • Tuesday, Nov. 13 from 4 p.m. –7 p.m. at Smallwood Middle School
  • Thursday, Nov. 15 from 3 p.m. –7 p.m. at Thomas Stone High School
  • Tuesday, Nov. 27 from 3 p.m. –7 p.m. at Piccowaxen Middle School
  • Thursday, Nov. 29 from 3 p.m. –7 p.m. at La Plata High School

For additional information, visit the Charles County Department of Health website at www.charlescountyhealth.orgor the Centers for Disease Control website at www.cdc.gov/flu/protect/preventing.htm.

###