April 15, 2013 | www.charlescountymd.gov


Charles County, Maryland

April 15, 2013

Monday, April 15, 2013

Commission on Individuals with Disabilities
Meeting Minutes
April 15, 2013
Charles County Government Building, Room B125

In Attendance:                                   Excused:
Jeff Barnett                                                   Linda Clem
Amy Blandford                                              Joane Gulvas
Sandra Dent                                                 Jim Howard
Emily Ferren                                                Elaine Lancaster
Robin Lincoln
Kelly Reynolds
Tony Silva

Meeting called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Chair, Amy Blandford.  The attendance roster was checked for today's meeting.

Minutes Approved:Tony Silva moved that the March 18th minutes be approved.  Amy Blandford seconded.  The March minutes were aproved.

For your Information:
Our schedule of meetings for the rest of the calendar year is as follows:

May 20, 2013
June 17, 2013
July 15, 2013
August 19, 2013
September 16, 2013
October 21, 2013
November 18, 2013
December 16, 2013

All meetings are held at 3:00 p.m. in Room B125 at the County Government Building.

Jeff Barnett gave an update on Transportation.  There will be two public hearings conducted by the MTA to get input on DC commuter service.  One hearins is Monday, April 15th in the County Govt. Bldg. from 5 - 8 p.m.  The second hearing is Tuesday, April 16th at the Jaycees in Waldorf from 5 - 8 p.m.

At Route 301 and Smallwood Drive, a pavilion is being built for Van Go buses.

Does the Department of Social Services on Kent Ave. have a handicapped entrance door?  No handicapped buttons are visible, or a call button.  The doors are heavy.  There are handicapped parking spaces and curb cuts.  Check with J. Gulvas.

Are getting our minutes posted in a timely fashion?

Baltimore County Resource Guid was brought in as a sample.

Participation in Independent Living Awareness Day sponsored by the Southern Maryland Center for Independent Living was discussed.  The date will be in October 2013.


Emily Ferren nominated Tony Silva as Chair, Sandra Dent seconded.  Vote was unanimous.  Kelly Reynolds nominated Emily Ferren as Vice-Chair, Sandra Dent seconded.  Vote was unanimous.  Sandra Dent nominated Robin Lincoln as Secretary, Amy Blandford seconded.  Vote was unanimous.

Our officers for 2013-2014 (beginning July 1st) are:

Chair - Tony Silva
Vice-Chair - Emily Ferren
Secretary - Robin Lincoln

We will celebrate with a cake at our July 15gh meeting.


Amy Blandford has an appointment on April 2rd at 2:30 p.m. to get our By Laws approved by the Commissioners.  Emily Ferren and Tony Silva will also be attending.

Meeting Adjourned:

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Next Meeting:

The next meeting is scheduled for Monday, May 20th at 3:00 p.m. at the County Government Building, Room B125.