April 22, 2014 Minutes | www.charlescountymd.gov


Charles County, Maryland

April 22, 2014 Minutes

Tuesday, April 22, 2014


The Board of Appeals held its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, April 22, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Charles County Government Building, La Plata, Maryland. 
The following were present:

Brendan Moon, Vice Chairman
Shannon Houston-Smack,
Sean Johnston, Alternate
Matthew Clagett, Associate County Attorney
Joseph Raczkowski, Program Manager, Planning
Aimee Dailey, Planning    
Carrol Everett, Clerk

The Vice Chairman called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. and stated there was a quorum. 
Luke Hannah, Vice Chairman, Frederick Mower, and Lynn Green were absent.

The Vice Chairman announced the process by which all Board of Appeals hearings are to be conducted.

The Vice Chairman announced that anyone wishing to make a statement pertinent to the operations of the Board can do so at this time, excluding the items on tonight’s agenda.


Docket #1316 – Daniel Yates, for a variance to the Chesapeake Bay Critical Area regulations for a driveway expansion, as provided in Article IX, Section 297-132.G(8)(b) and Article XXV, Section 297-416 of the Charles County Zoning Ordinance. 

The Vice Chairman offered the Applicant the option of  re-scheduling the hearing to a future date in order to have more members present. 

The Clerk stated the next available meeting date is May 13, 2014.

The Applicant agreed to the new date.  Representatives from the Critical Area Commission
who were present also had no objections to the continuance.

Minutes to be Approved

A MOTION was made by Mr. Johnston, seconded by Ms. Smack, to approve the Minutes for February 25, 2014, 2014 with a correction.  All voted in favor and the MOTION passed.


Docket #1299:  Richard & Carol Turner, Entry of  Order - signed.

Docket #1315:  Verizon Wireless - Order signed.

The meeting adjourned at 7:12 p.m.