July 18, 2018 Minutes | www.charlescountymd.gov


Charles County, Maryland

July 18, 2018 Minutes

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

4:00 PM
PGM #1, Charles County Government Building

John Zanelotti, Chairman
John San Luis, Vice Chairman
Thomas Wathen
Willie Zapata
Sandra Fitzgerald, Assoc County Attorney
Don Litten- absent
Susan Cecil, Secretary

Nicholaus Meyers, Tesla
Ashley Thompson, Tesla
Dave Rose, Planchek, Owner
Tom Zrioka, Planchek Inspector
Paul Hamby, Planchek Inspector

Administrative Business:

  • Approval of June 2018 drafted meeting minutes. Thomas Wathen motioned to approve meeting minutes as written.  Seconded by Willie Zapata. All in favor. None opposed.

New Business:

  1. Pertaining to our concerns with the State Legislative Committee:
    1. Nothing new to provide.
  2. Nicholaus Meyers and Ashley Fowler, Tesla, requested to attend this meeting to speak with Board today with respect to 3-4 prong outlets for range and dryer outlets.   They were requesting exemption from Article 250.140.  The claim was that there are other jurisdictions allowing exemptions pertaining to this Article with permitting and inspections.  There was discussion between members of this Board, Charles County Building Code Official, Planchek staff and Mr. Meyers. After the discussion it was agreed that this request would be denied.  It was noted that this Board follows the NEC 2017 with no exceptions. All in favor. None opposed.
  3. Homeowners Permit application:
    1. Michael Juan- approved by John Zanelotti with discussion of Don Litten.  Proposed electrical scope of work allowed to be performed by Homeowner’s Electrical Permit. Don Litten will address work done without permits.
  4. Adrien Spriggs, Journeyman 1872, request to reinstate expired Journeyman was denied.
  5. We will need to provide updated exams NEC 2017 for September testing.
  6. Journeyman exam application:
    1. Felix Vargas – approved by John San Luis
    2. Motion was made by Thomas Wathen to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Willie Zapata.  All in favor. None opposed. 

Next meeting:  August 15, 2018.