May 13, 2014 Minutes |

Charles County, Maryland

May 13, 2014 Minutes

Tuesday, May 13, 2014


The Board of Appeals held its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, May 13, 2014 at 7:00 p.m. in the Commissioners Meeting Room of the Charles County Government Building, La Plata, Maryland. 
The following were present:

Luke Hannah, Chairman
Frederick Mower
Shannon Houston-Smack
Lynn Green
Sean Johnston, Alternate
Matthew Clagett, Associate County Attorney
Joseph Raczkowski, Program Manager, Planning
Aimee Dailey, Planning    
Carrol Everett, Clerk

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. and stated there was a quorum. 
Brendan Moon, Vice Chairman, was absent.

The Chairman announced the process by which all Board of Appeals hearings are to be conducted.

The Chairman announced that anyone wishing to make a statement pertinent to the operations of the Board can do so at this time, excluding the items on tonight’s agenda.


Docket #1316 (continued from 4/22/14) – Daniel Yates, for a variance to the Chesapeake Bay Critical Area regulations for a driveway expansion, as provided in Article IX, Section 297-132.G(8)(b) and Article XXV, Section 297-416 of the Charles County Zoning Ordinance. 

Ms. Nancy Slepicka, Esquire was just retained by the Applicant. She asked the Board to grant a continuance in order to have time for appropriate review and preparation of the case.

The Clerk stated the next available meeting date is July 8, 2014.    

The Applicant had no objection to the new date. 

Actions by the Board

A MOTION was made by Mr. Mower, seconded by Ms. Houston-Smack, to continue the case to July 8, 2014.  With all voting in favor, the MOTION passed.

There was no other business and the meeting adjourned at 7:10 p.m.