Meeting Minutes - June 16, 2014 |

Charles County, Maryland

Meeting Minutes - June 16, 2014

Friday, September 19, 2014

Meeting Minutes for the Commission on Individuals with Disabilities

Monday, June 16, 2014, 3 p.m.

County Government Building, B125


In Attendance:  Amy Blandford, Emily Ferren, Tony Silva, Tonja Kay Speer

Excused:   Jim Howard, Sandra Dent, Robin Lincoln

Guests:  Lisa Bryant (United Way of Charles County

Meeting Called to Order:  The meeting was called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Chair, Tony Silva.  The attendance roster was checked for today’s meeting

Minutes Approved:  The minutes for the May 19, 2014 meeting were approved.

Amy motioned for approval and Emily seconded the motion.


Guest Presentation: Lisa Bryant from United Way of Charles County discussed connecting people with what United Way does through their Directory and online website. She also invited our Commission to attend the Homeless and Emergency Shelter Committee to describe what our Commission does. Lisa presented the importance of partnerships and building capacity. The Annual Day of Caring is coming up on September 11, 2014 and the Homeless Resource Day in October. Their website is



Amy Blandford and Tony Silva reported on the Region II celebration, commemorating 85 years of DORS (Division of Rehabilitation Services) service, helping Marylanders with disabilities go to work. Tony was one of the guest speakers at the May 21st event held in Chesapeake Beach.


Tony Silva was given thanks for his year as Chair. Light refreshments will be served at the next mtg.


Old Business: 

Tony reported that membership applications are still pending.


New Business: 

Emily Ferren has been invited to attend the June 20th Board meeting of the Maryland Statewide Independent Living Council, Inc. She has put in an application to serve as a Board representative for Southern Maryland to the Council.


The DORS Annual Conference is scheduled for October 30-31 in Timonium.


Next Meeting:   July 21, 2014 3 p.m. at Charles County Government Center, Office of Joane Gulvas-B125.


Adjournment:  The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 p.m.


Respectfully Submitted,

Emily Ferren (Acting Secretary)