To get Coronavirus updates and protection tips, Click Here.

Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Planning Commission consists of 7 citizens appointed by the Co. Commissioners. Members are appointed for 4-yr staggered terms. The members are citizen planners chosen from all walks of life & typically do not have formal planning training.

The Co. Commissioners are given authority to appoint a Planning Commission by Article 66B of the Annotated Code of MD. This Article also describes what role & responsibility the Commission has in regulating land use in the County. It specifies that the Planning Commission must develop & recommend for adoption, a Comprehensive Plan for the County. The Planning Commission is also charged with a large portion of its implementation, hearing rezoning requests, & approval authority for subdivision of property in the Co. Meetings & agendas are advertised on the Counties Automated Response System, web site, and local newspaper. The meetings are held in the Co. Commissioners mtg rm in the Co. Govt. Bldg. Due to the current COVD-19 emergency, Planning Commission meeting will be held virtually at this time.  For more information, please visit our Virtual Meeting Information page.

Any written comments during open record, following a public hearing, should be mailed to PGM, Attn: Clerk to the Planning Commission, 200 Baltimore Street, La Plata, MD 20646 or emailed to

Annual Reports


Speaker Registration Form

In order to comment at the Planning Commission you must submit the above registration form by 4:30 p.m. the Friday before the Planning Commission meeting.


red2Agendas & Minutes