To get Coronavirus updates and protection tips, Click Here.

  • Treasurer Banner Image

Contact Us

200 Baltimore St.
P.O. Box 2607
La Plata, MD 20646

Eric Jackson
Chief of Treasury

Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Web Contact Form


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Frequently Asked Questions due to the (COVID-19) Coronavirus Outbreak

  • Treasury Covid-19 FAQs

    • What about paying for permits?

    • What happens if the office is closed or I do not want to visit in person and I need to make a payment?

    • Will my property go to tax sale if I haven't paid this year?

    • Will my water be cut off or will a late charge be applied?

The Treasury Division is responsible for the collection and investment of the majority of all County funds. The Treasury Division administers and collects County property taxes and also collects revenue from permit and development fees, landfill income, water and sewer payments, gambling and liquor license fees, dog tag sales, and various other fees and fines. In addition, as a convenience to citizens, the Treasury Division provides motor vehicle registration renewals, and jury slip redemption.

This division is also responsible for researching and validating deeds prior to recording at the Court House and for conducting the tax sale in May of each year.

All accounts payable and Section 8 rental assistance checks are disbursed by this office as well. A priority for this office is to maintain our current high standards of efficiency and friendly customer service to both the general public and to other departments of the County.


More News

Payment Centers

Facility NameAddress
Charles County Government Building200 Baltimore Street
La Plata, MD 20646
Government Satellite Center3670 Leonardtown Road
Waldorf, MD 20601


Printable Forms